This website uses technical and assimilated cookies as well as user-profiling third party cookies in a grouped format to simplify online navigation and to protect the use of services. To find out more or to refuse consent to the use of one or any of the cookies, click here. Closing this banner, browsing this page or clicking on anything will be taken as consent to the use of cookies.

Maltese Association

Order of Malta


Investiture and Awards Ceremony 1 February 2019


An Investiture and Awards Ceremony was held on Friday, 1st February 2019. Holy Mass in celebration of Candlemas was celebrated at 6.30 p.m. at the Oratory of St John’s Co-Cathedral by H.G. Mgr. Charles J. Scicluna, Metropolitan Archbishop of Malta, assisted by H.L. Mgr. Joseph Galea Curmi, Auxiliary Bishop of Malta and the Very Rev. Mgr. Lawrence Gatt, Principal Chaplain together with other chaplains of the Order.


Investiture in the rank of Conventual Chaplain ‘ad honorem’

H.L. Mgr. Joseph Galea Curmi

Titular Bishop of Cebarades

Auxiliary Bishop of Malta


Decorations of the Order pro Merito Melitensi


Cross of Commander of the Order pro Merito Melitensi


Mr Edward Baker K.M.


Cross of Officer of the Order pro Merito Melitensi


The Noble Marchesino Josef Formosa Gauci K.M.


Cross of the Order pro Merito Melitensi


Dame Caroline Caruana Galizia D.M.


Mrs Mariella Zarb


Miss Maria Dolores Aquilina


Mrs Cynthia de Giorgio


Mro. Prof. Michael Laus


Silver Medal of the Order pro Merito Melitensi


Mrs Carmen Scicluna


Medaglia di Benemerenza – Pellegrinaggi a Lourdes


Mrs Federica (Erika) Falzon Gatt


Mrs Roberta Gabaretta


Mrs Monica Vassallo Cesareo


Mr Marcus Micallef


Light refreshments were served at Casa Lanfreducci after the ceremony.

More photos of the ceremony are available by clicking  here.