Investiture & Decoration Ceremony


An investiture and decoration ceremony took place on Friday 3rd March 2017 in the Oratory at St John’s Co-Cathedral. The ceremony was presided over by the Association’s President, H.E. Daniel de Petri Testaferrata assisted by the Chancellor, Comm. Dr Michael Grech.

The Principal Chaplain, Mgr Lawrence Gatt, celebrated Holy Mass and Mgr Paul Vella and Mgr Victor Zammit McKeon con-celebrated. Mgr Gatt started by blessing the insignia that were to be conferred. After the reading of the Gospel and the Homily, the conferment of the awards and medals took place.

The President addressed each recipient individually, lending a personal touch to the formal proceedings.


Passage to Knight of Magistral Grace

Dr David Cassar

The following individuals received decorations of the Order pro Merito Melitensi.


Grand Cross ‘pro piis meritis’ pro Merito Melitensi

The Very Rev Mgr Lawrence Gatt


Cross of Commander pro Merito Melitensi

Dr Alfred Caruana Galizia


Cross of Officer pro Merito Melitensi

Dr Pascal Demajo

Dr Pascal Demajo


Mr Benoit Musy


Cross pro Merito Melitensi

Dame Josephine Farrugia Randon


Ms Rachel Barthet

Ms Rachel Barthet


Mrs Therese Ellul Sullivan

Mrs Therese Ellul Sullivan


Mrs Bernadette Mangion

Mrs Bernadette Mangion


Silver Medal pro Merito Melitensi

Mr John Fenech


Medaglia di Benemerenza per il Pellegrinaggio di Lourdes

Mr Francis Bugeja


Mr Edward Cassar Torreggiani


Mrs Monica Cauchi


Mrs Stephanie Falzon


Mrs Angele Mifsud Bonnici


Mrs Simonette Miller


Mrs Maria Antonia Naudi


Dr Joseph Vella


After the Investiture and Decoration ceremony, refreshments were served at Casa Lanfreducci.