This website uses technical and assimilated cookies as well as user-profiling third party cookies in a grouped format to simplify online navigation and to protect the use of services. To find out more or to refuse consent to the use of one or any of the cookies, click here. Closing this banner, browsing this page or clicking on anything will be taken as consent to the use of cookies.

Maltese Association

Order of Malta


Investiture & Decoration Ceremony in the Oratory of St John’s Co-Cathedral


Eve of the Feast of Candelmas

The Oratory of St John’s co-Cathedral in Valletta was literally full up. Extra chairs were needed to seat the entire congregation, which convened to hear Holy Mass and follow the Promotion and Awards Ceremony.

The main celebrant was Maltese Association Principal Chaplain, Mgr Lawrence Gatt, assisted by Mgr Paul Vella and Mgr George Mifsud Montanaro, Fr Savio Vella, Fr David Gauci, Canon Karm Busuttil and Fr Mark André Camilleri. The Latin liturgy blended beautifully with the choir singing led by Mro Dione Buhagiar. It added a finishing touch to the gracious setting of this unique chapel, which houses the largest and only signed Caravaggio in the world.

As usual, Mgr Gatt delivered a thought provoking and soul seeking sermon which was followed very attentively.

The ceremony was most ably conducted by the Chancellor of the Maltese Association, Marchesino Comm. Daniel de Petri Testaferrata with the support of the Association’s Master of Ceremonies, Major Raymond Miller.

H. E. Fra John Edward Critien, Venerando Bali` di Gran Croce di Giustizia Professo di Voti Solenni, read the Prayer of the Order at the end of the ceremony.

After the ceremony, members of the Order and guests walked to Casa Lanfreducci to finish the day with some good food and drinks. It was indeed a most wonderful occasion.

Promotions and Awards


Donat to Knight of Magistral Grace

Comm. Tonio Casapinta

Mr. Christopher Cassar Torreggiani

Dr. Kevin Dingli

Mr. Dane Munro

Donata to Dame of Magistral Grace

Mrs. Josephine Farrugia Randon


Grand Cross pro merito Melitensi

Dame Helen Farrugia Randon

Cross of Commander with Swords pro Merito Melitensi

Major Raymond Miller

Cross with Crown pro Merito Melitensi

Dame Vivien, Dowager Marchioness Cassar de Sain

Dame Mary Ann Pace

Cross Pro Piis Meritis

The Rev. Canon Simon Godfrey

Cross pro Merito Melitensi

Dr Victor Calvagna

Mr Ronnie Micallef

Mr Chris Paris

Ms Joanna Pisani

Medaglia di Benemerenza – Pellegrinaggi a Lourdes

Absentee: Mr Mark Pace

Mr Kenneth Paris

Ms Paula Pace

Ms Maria Melita Galea

Ms Rachel Barthet

Baroncino Clement de Piro of Budach

Mrs Juanita Demajo

Mr Alan Paris

Ms Miriam Kerr

Mrs Nathalie Galea

Dr Michael Ellul Sullivan

Mrs Marian Galea

Mr John Mary Spiteri